

## FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN GRADUATE STUDENT MENTORING

The Faculty of Graduate Studies will offer three awards annually to recognize outstanding mentorship of graduate students. Those holding academic membership in the Faculty of Graduate Studies as well as any others who have a track-record of supervising graduate students at the University of Manitoba will be eligible to receive an award. Normally, one award will be given each year to one faculty member in each of (a) Social Sciences and Humanities, (b) Natural and Applied Sciences, and (c) Health Sciences.

Complete nomination packages must be received by the **deadline**; **Tuesday**, **June 27th**, **2023 at 4:30 pm** and must include (a) a nomination letter that describes the nominee's record of excellence in graduate student mentoring (please see criteria below), (b) an abbreviated curriculum vitae which includes a complete and detailed list of the nominee's record related to graduate student mentoring (including students advised, program duration, and outcome if known), (c) letters of support from former and/or current graduate students, and (d) other supporting documents or letters as appropriate.

Winners will be selected on the basis of evidence of (a) sustained excellence in the mentoring of graduate students to completion, (b) responsiveness to graduate students' needs, (c) success in fostering a collegial environment of inquiry and critical thinking, (d) encouraging students to create and disseminate new knowledge, (e) a positive effect on students' motivation, (f) lasting positive student outcomes, and (g) other information as deemed relevant by the selection committee.

The awards will be adjudicated by a committee chaired by the Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean (Faculty of Graduate Studies) or designate. The committee will include the Director of the Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning (CATL), the President of the Graduate Students' Association (GSA), the Associate Deans of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, and three faculty members selected by the Executive Committee of the Faculty of Graduate Studies from amongst its members.