## JEWISH FEDERATION OF WINNIPEG



## Statement from the Jewish Federation of Winnipeg regarding the situation in Israel and Gaza

The events of the last few days have raised concerns in our community and worldwide. The Jewish Federation of Winnipeg is releasing the following statement.

Federation is committed to keeping our community informed, and will be posting regular updates on our website as events unfold.

It is our view that Israel has acted appropriately in order to protect its citizens from the threat of daily rocket attacks launched into southern Israel by Hamas. As the so-called truce between Hamas and Israel ended just 10 days ago, the number of missiles launched averaged over 60 a day. Israel's quarrel is not with the people of Gaza but rather with Hamas, who continue to refuse to acknowledge the existence of Israel and is committed to its destruction.

At this time the Federation is in continuous communication with our national and Israeli partners. We will keep the community informed as developments occur. For further information please visit the Federation website at www.jewishwinnipeg.org.

-30-

Media Contact: Jon Waldman, Communications Coordinator Jewish Federation of Winnipeg P: (204) 477-7473 E-mail: jwaldman@jewishwinnipeg.org Immediate Past President Edward Lyons, O.C. President Jonathan Kroft Vice President Ben Cohen Departmental Chairs Marity Greenfeld David Kroft Adam Levene Abby Morris Gustavo Zentner

Campaign Chair Israel Ludwig

Women's Campaign Chair Sharon Allentuck

Board of Directors Rena Boroditsky Neil Duboff David Gisser Sergio Glogowski Yhetta Gold, C.M. Sherman Greenberg Fay-Lynn Katz Faith Kaplan Steven Kohn Lisa Levinson Eric Sawyer Jeremy Shinewald Sean Shore Marshail Stitz Larry Vickar Joel Weinstein Leslie Wilder

Board of Governors Don Aronovitch Marjorie Blankstein, C.M. Mei Fages Morley M. Globerman, z"I Ian Goldstine Sid Halpern Larry Hurtig Evelyn Katz David S. Kaufman Guy Kroft Mendle Meltzer, z"I Howard Morry Monte Nathanson A I Omson

Chief Executive Officer Bob Freedman

Chief Financial Officer Jack Cipilinski

Financial Resource Development Director Elaine Goldstine

Financial Resource Development Associate Director David Greaves

Community Planning Director Faye Rosenberg-Cohen Community Relations Director Shelley Faintuch

Next Generation Initiatives Director Judi Price-Rosen